Techeetah announce New York City FC as a sponsor for the New York ePrix

Ahead of the New York ePrix, Techeetah has announced New York City FC as a sponsor for this weekend's race.

Techeetah has announced that New York City FC will sponsor the team for this weekend’s inaugural New York ePrix which will mark the ninth and tenth rounds of the 2016-2017 Season.

Techeetah announce New York City FC as a sponsor for the New York ePrix

Both of the team’s cars this weekend will feature the logo of New York City FC while drivers, Jean Eric Vergne and Stéphane Sarrazin will visit the first team of New York City FC when in training.

The New York ePrix this weekend will mark the first time that an FIA backed event will take place around the streets of the city that never sleeps, with a 1.21 mile track being specifically designed for the event.

“Formula E is rapidly growing and working together with TECHEETAH offers us the opportunity to support a local event in the five boroughs and engage New York sports fans in a new, interesting way,” said Jon Patricof, the President of New York City FC. “We encourage our fans to attend this weekend’s race and experience what should be an amazing show before we take on Toronto on Wednesday, July 19 at Yankee Stadium.”

Mark Preston, the team principal of Techeetah also commented on the partnership: “We are very excited about our relationship with New York City FC, which is an ideal fit as we are both pushing for excellence in our respective sports and are both renowned for promoting a culture of trying to bring fans closer to the team that they love. We hope that this initiative will bring new fans to Formula E and get them excited about the rapid pace of development in the electric vehicle market. We look forward to putting on a good show for New York City FC fans and hope they’ll be cheering us on.”

The double header event this weekend in New York will mark the ninth and tenth rounds of this season, and marks a number of changes in driver lineups, including former GP2 drivers Alex Lynn and Pierre Gasly joining DS Virgin Racing and Renault e.dams while Jose Maria Lopez and Sebastien Buemi will be competing in the World Endurance Championship.