Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti robbed at gunpoint in Taco Bell drive-thru

After taking the pole for Sunday's Indy 500, Scott Dixon was robbed at gunpoint, muting celebrations. Connor Ferguson looks at this crime and at Dixon's performance in qualifying.

After Scott Dixon earned the pole position for this year’s Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, he was ready to sit back, relax, and celebrate for a little bit.

However, the celebration down time didn’t last long for Dixon.

Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti robbed at gunpoint in Taco Bell drive-thru

After the festivities at Indianapolis Motor Speedway ended, Dixon and former IndyCar Champion Dario Franchitti got together to celebrate.

Dixon and his wife later went to Taco Bell to get a late-night snack and bring it back for Franchitti.

While they were ordering, they were approached by two boys, who robbed Dixon at gunpoint.

Dixon didn’t have his own wallet with him, and ended up giving the thieves his wife’s wallet.

The two were later reported to be 15 and 16 years old, and were arrested.

Tony Kanaan said because he is from Brazil, he was used to hearing about these things, just not a drive-thru.

“I’m never going to be alert at a drive-thru, thinking somebody is going to point a gun to my head,” Kanaan said in an interview. “You’re buying $20 food.”

Sunday’s Indy 500

Dixon’s 4-lap average of 232.164 mph was good enough to land him in first place to start Sunday’s Indy 500. The race will be televised nationally by ABC. Coverage will start at noon ET.

Dixon has won the Indy 500 just once, taking the victory from the pole position in 2008.

2017 Indy 500 Starting Lineup
Position Driver Average Speed
1 Scott Dixon 232.164
2 Ed Carpenter 231.664
3 Alexander Rossi 231.487
4 Takuma Sato 231.365
5 Fernando Alonso 231.3
6 JR Hildebrand 230.889
7 Tony Kanaan 230.826
8 Marco Andretti 230.474
9 Will Power 230.2
10 Ryan Hunter-Reay 231.442
11 Ed Jones 230.578
12 Oriol Servia 230.309
13 Mikhail Aleshin 230.271
14 Graham Rahal 230.253
15 Max Chilton 230.068
16 Charlie Kimball 229.956
17 James Hinchcliffe 229.86
18 Juan Pablo Montoya 229.565
19 Helio Castroneves 229.515
20 Jay Howard 229.414
21 Sage Karam 229.38
22 Joesf Newgarden 228.501
23 Simon Pagenaud 228.093
24 Carlos Munoz 227.921
25 Gabby Chaves 226.921
26 Conor Daly 226.439
27 Jack Harvey 225.742
28 Pippa Mann 225.008
29 Spencer Pigot 224.052
30 Buddy Lazier 223.417
31 Sebastian Saavedra 221.142
32 Zach Veach 221.081

Main Photo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.