Mercedes WO9 on track during practice for the Formula One Grand Prix of China at Shanghai International Circuit on April 13, 2018 in Shanghai, China. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

The Chinese GP, the third race of the season, kicked off under cool and overcast conditions with the first practice session (FP1). The high tailwinds at the Shanghai International Circuit on Friday afternoon, caused cars to spin out. The first and last turns of the circuit were the two main areas where the drivers had issues.

Lewis Hamilton Tops First Practice Session

Early in the session, you could see people go wide on the last turn, with some of them running off into the gravel. Max Verstappen, Stoffel Vandoorne and other drivers found themselves making trips into the gravel.

Ferrari were seen practicing pit stops, as they had a new member replacing the mechanic that was injured after an accident last week in Bahrain. During Kimi Raikkonen’s stop during the race last Sunday a pit member’s leg was run over, causing him to suffer a fractured shinbone and fibula.

Mercedes Back In Form

Lewis Hamilton topped the leaderboards with a lap time of 1:33.999s. Behind him was Raikkonen, and his teammate Valtteri Bottas. Fourth and fifth place was occupied by Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen. Sebastian Vettel, the championship leader, was sixth.

Free Practice 1 Results:

Pos No Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:33.999 22
2 7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:34.358 +0.359s 14
3 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:34.457 +0.458s 28
4 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 1:34.537 +0.538s 22
5 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 1:34.668 +0.669s 22
6 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:34.861 +0.862s 18
7 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1:35.178 +1.179s 21
8 55 Carlos Sainz Renault 1:35.616 +1.617s 23
9 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 1:35.718 +1.719s 21
10 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:35.800 +1.801s 18
11 10 Pierre Gasly Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:36.037 +2.038s 21
12 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 1:36.044 +2.045s 29
13 11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 1:36.051 +2.052s 28
14 31 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 1:36.351 +2.352s 32
15 35 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 1:36.691 +2.692s 31
16 28 Brendon Hartley Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:36.715 +2.716s 23
17 16 Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 1:36.723 +2.724s 23
18 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 1:36.756 +2.757s 25
19 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 1:36.909 +2.910s 21
20 18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 1:37.277 +3.278s 28

Embed from Getty Images


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.