ELKHART LAKE, WI - JUNE 24: Podium finishers, L to R, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Josef Newgarden, and Scott Dixon, of New Zealand, raise their trophies in victory lane after the Verizon IndyCar Series Kohler Grand Prix at Road America on June 24, 2018 in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin. (Photo by Brian Cleary/Getty Images)

Last season, going into Mid-Ohio, Scott Dixon held a seven-point lead in the Verizon IndyCar Series points standings, looking to build some momentum en route to a 5th championship. Dixon had five wins at Mid-Ohio before that race, which is the most in track history. To say he had been dominant would be an understatement.

Scott Dixon wants win in Buckeye State more than ever in 2018

Although, Dixon couldn’t seal the deal on that day. He finished P9 on the day, while Josef Newgarden went on to win the 200-mile race. Newgarden would take the championship lead from Dixon that day, and also eventually took the championship.

This season, Dixon looks to turn the table. The New Zealand native leads Newgarden by 62 points in the standings along with Alexander Rossi sitting in 3rd close behind. A win at Mid-Ohio would give him a sizable points lead four races to go in the year.

Though Dixon has four series championships and five wins at Mid-Ohio, he has never won a race in the Buckeye state during the same season he has come home with a championship. Dixon won his first championship way back in 2003 paired with his second in 2008. He then won two out of three with series victories in 2013 and 2015.

His wins at Mid-Ohio stagger around that, taking 2007 and 2009 before winning back-to-back races at the track in 2011 and 2012. Though for Dixon’s standards, it’s been a while since he has won at the sports car course. He hasn’t brought home a Honda Indy 200 win since 2014.

The three-year gap between victories there is his longest since he first won there. That could mean Dixon is incredibly due. The Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio will take place on Sunday and will be televised live on NBCSN. The race is scheduled to start at 3:00 p.m. ET.

IndyCar Standings
1. Scott Dixon | 464
2. Josef Newgarden | 402
3. Alexander Rossi | 394
4. Ryan Hunter-Reay | 373
5. Will Power | 371
6. Robert Wickens | 339
7. Simon Pagenaud | 320
8. Graham Rahal | 313
9. James Hinchcliffe | 312
10. Marco Andretti | 266

Embed from Getty Images


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.