WATKINS GLEN, NY - AUGUST 04: Joey Logano, driver of the #22 Snap On Ford, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Xfinity Series Zippo 200 at Watkins Glen International on August 4, 2018 in Watkins Glen, New York. (Photo by Sarah Crabill/Getty Images)

The NASCAR Xfinity Series raced at Watkins Glen International on Saturday afternoon, but it would be hard to tell by looking at the race results. Cup regulars Joey Logano and Brad Keselowski battled over the final 10 laps, eventually seeing Keselowski spin, giving Logano the win.

Logano was one of four Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regulars in the top 10, which doesn’t include Kyle Larson, who was taken out of position with less than 10 laps to go due to an engine failure.

Joey Logano takes Xfinity race at The Glen, breaks Bell’s win streak

In the playoffs, things are sure to heat up. With no cup regulars allowed to enter, Xfinity teams are gearing up to actually have a time where, “Names are made here.”

Logano’s win broke rookie Christopher Bell‘s dominant, three-race win streak that saw the No. 20 car in victory lane at Iowa, New Hampshire, and Kentucky. Bell, along with a few other drivers, has seemingly locked up his spot in the playoffs.

With six races to go in the regular season, though, some aren’t so lucky. Ross Chastain represents the points cutoff in 12th place, but John Hunter Nemechek, Michael Annett, and Ryan Sieg are currently on the outside looking in. Annett finished 17th on Saturday in his first race with new crew chief, Travis Mack, at the helm.

The series heads to the Mid-Ohio SportsCar course next week, and while Annett only heralded a 20.5 average finish, Sieg and Chastain both hold an average result of 16th.Nemecheck  has not yet raced in the Xfinity Series on the course.

That race will take place on Saturday, August 11 at 3:00 p.m. ET and can be seen live on NBCSN.

NASCAR Xfinity Series Playoff Grid
Through 20 of 26 regular season races
1. Christopher Bell (4 wins)
2. Justin Allgaier (2 wins*)
3. Tyler Reddick (1 win)
4. Cole Custer +314
5. Daniel Hemric +313
6. Elliott Sadler +310
7. Brandon Jones +208
8. Ryan Truex +155
9. Austin Cindric +107
10. Matt Tifft +104
11. Ryan Reed +86
12. Ross Chastain +25
Playoff Cutoff
13. John Hunter Nemechek 401 -25
14. Michael Annett -40
15. Ryan Sieg -75
*Driver has two wins, but only one can be used for the playoffs.

Embed from Getty Images


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.