Shaffer wins Williams Grove, Gravel and Schatz round out Podium

Tim Shaffer wins Williams Grove
Tim Shaffer took home the big check in Friday night's World of Outlaws Series race at Williams Grove. Photo courtesy World of Outlaws.

2010 Knoxville Nationals Champion Tim Shaffer gave the full-time Outlaws all they could handle in Night 1 of the Champion Racing Oil Summer Nationals at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday, but there was plenty of drama in the series.

Shaffer led all 25 laps of the main event after winning the dash and starting from the pole.

Behind him, David Gravel was making a charge.

Shaffer wins Williams Grove, Gravel and Schatz round out Podium

Gravel started fourth for the feature behind Freddie Rahmer and Donny Schatz but was able to get by both of them before a caution came out for Roth Motorsports’ Daryn Pittman with 11 laps to go.

On the restart, Gravel made sure to put a big gap between him and the 10-time World of Outlaws champion.

He would challenge Shaffer for the win, but ultimately drove too hard through turns three and four with two laps to go, touching the outside wall and giving Shaffer the win.

Gravel told Dirt Vision after the race that if he could do it over again, he would take the chance to go big on the last lap, rather than the second-to-last.

The result, however, tightens up the championship race.

Points leader Brad Sweet started sixth in his NAPA Auto Parts No. 49 car, but fell back to a seventh-place finish by the end of the main event.

That dropped the difference in point standings between Sweet and the second-place Schatz to 14 points. Gravel gained 10 points as well, and now sits 102 back.

The NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws Series will be back in action on Saturday night, once again at Williams Grove, for a $20,000-to-win main event in Pennsylvania.

NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws Sprint Car Standings
Position Driver Points Behind
1 Brad Sweet 5986
2 Donny Schatz 5972 -14
3 David Gravel 5884 -102
4 Daryn Pittman 5756 -230
5 Logan Schuchart 5714 -272
6 Carson Macedo 5566 -420
7 Shane Stewart 5552 -434
8 Ian Madsen 5440 -546
9 S. Haudenschild 5290 -696
10 Kraig Kinser 5220 -766

Full Standings can be found HERE.

For more coverage on the Month of Money, visit our Month of Money Headquarters for daily updates and every article we have put out surrounding the biggest month of sprint car racing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.